The Driver Examiner will BE CLOSED:
Close at 2:30 p.m. Thursday, February 8, 2024
Closed Thursday, February 15, 2024
Open at 10 a.m. Tuesday, February 20, 2024
Closed Tuesday, March 5, 2024
Notice: Effective 01/01/2023, this office will give drive tests to Lincoln County residents ONLY.
Please call to schedule an appointment.
This DMV is a county office funded by Lincoln County, it is not a state DMV office. As a county office we offer limited driver's license services. If your driver's license needs to be reinstated you must do that through a state DMV office or online.
If you need to renew your Colorado driver's license or Colorado ID, no appointment is needed but it is suggested. If you need to take a written test, a drive test or are transferring your out of state driver's license to Colorado, you must call 719-743-2796 to schedule an appointment.
Please note: masks are required for all drive tests, and please make sure the interior of your vehicle is clean. We reserve to the right to cancel drive tests if you refuse to wear a mask or your vehicle is dirty.
Visit www.mydmv.colorado.gov to determine if you can complete your transaction using the online services before making an appointment.
For complete driver's license and third party testing for drive tests information:
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
CLOSED for lunch everyday 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
719-743-2796 - Office
719-743-2524 - Fax
103 3rd Avenue
PO Box 67
Hugo, CO 80821
Please call 719-743-2796 before traveling a great distance, in order to make sure the state computer is not down.
We can NOW accept credit cards for payment!
A $20 fee will be added to all non-Lincoln County issued driver's license documents, effective June 18, 2007, per Lincoln County Resolution #654
|Instruction Permit (includes motorcycle)
|Identification Card (under 60 Years Old)
|Identification Card (over 60 years old)
|Commercial Driver License
|Duplicate Permit or License
|Subsequent Duplicate Permit or License
|Driver License Extension
WE ARE NOT A REINSTATEMENT OFFICE.
If you need to be reinstated you must do all business with a State Driver's License Office to be reinstated. For more information about reinstatements go to: www.colorado.gov/dmv
Proof of Address Requirement
In order to be in compliance with the REAL ID Act, all applicants for a drivers license or ID Card will now need two documents to prove their residential address, I.E. Utility Bill or Paystub. A parent’s proof of address indicated on license is acceptable for a minor child.
To be issued a Colorado Driver's License or Identification Card you must prove the following elements:
- Your full legal name
- Proof of all legal name changes
- Lawful presence in the United States
When a birth certificate is required for first time applicants or to replace a lost document a Certified copy of the birth certificate is required. (Birth certificates issued by a hospital are NOT acceptable.) Social Security number is also required.
Tests are BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
NO WRITTEN TEST WILL BE GIVEN AFTER 3:00 p.m.
Written tests available
- Basic written test
- Motorcycle written test (no motorcycle drive test)
- CDL written test